City of Bones

16-08-01-16-17-59-032_photo.jpg

“City of Bones” was a mildly surprising interim reread for me. I had read it as an ebook a couple of years ago, but got only recently around to buying this beautiful edition. What urged me to buy it? It was on sale.

I should remark that even though it was on sale, I did enjoy reading it the first time around. I remember staying up late, hiding under the blanket to continue reading the series, so that my father wouldn’t see the light in my bedroom and tell me to go to sleep. That would have interrupted my reading.

Needless to say, I very much like the new cover more than the original one. After all, it doesn’t change the story.

Famous book series don’t generally appeal to me much. I read them, oftentimes enjoy them and the continue with my life, as if nothing had happened. This was one of those books. It was pleasant and even though I didn’t love it, I read it as if my life depended on how deeply engrossed I was with this book.

Lily-Collins-Jamie-Campbell-Bower-Clary-Fray-Jace-Wayland-The-Mortal-Instruments-City-of-Bones-TMI-2

Lily Collins as Clary Fray and Jamie Campbell Bower as Jace Wayland in Harald Zwart’s “City of Bones”

Clary is one of my favourite female characters. She’s kind of clever, often more realistic than a lot of other book characters, which makes it easy to relate to her. But it doesn’t spoil the book.

Jace is the contrary of that. I can’t imagine anyone real having some of his characteristic traits, but then again, I’m not that big of a people-person to know for sure. But for that reason, I feel like there’s balance to this book. Of course, there are other characters, who make the story more substantial. I liked it. I really liked it a lot.

I really like this book and I hope I have time and means to reread the rest of the series as well. Now, however, I have my hands full with finishing Summer Scavenger Hunt and some other challenges.

Leave a Reply

